Early impressions of QGIS 1.9

I had a raster and I needed to make the no data value transparent, but QGIS 1.8 has a bug that prevented me from doing so.  Since I’m not working in a production environment I decided to go ahead and pull 1.9 from QGIS’s Git repository and give it a shot.  Someone has set up a PKGBUILD that handles all the hard work of pulling the latest and greatest off of github for you.

Once 1.9 was downloaded and compiled I really liked what I saw.  Not only is the no data transparency bug fixed, but the raster menu is completely overhauled.  I will miss the old single band pseudo-color and freak out settings, I guess I can figure out what their color ramps were and rebuild them by hand.  I’ll take that over the old way rasters were handled which left you staring at a grey box until you set the min/max values and stretched the display to their values.  Now when you load a raster you get a usable display right off the bat.

Also new in 1.9 is the updated label tab and engine.  I haven’t played with it much but there are a million options to play with, once you dig into it labels are going to rival what you get from ArcMap’s Maplex label engine.

I also downloaded a new plugin, Statist.  It is available from the official plugin repository, and it works on QGIS 1.8 or greater.  This plugin is similar to ArcMap’s Statistics menu, as you can see in the screenshot below it gives you a frequency chart and a break down on some basic statistical data from fields in your vector layers.  Simple, easy to use, and gives you valuable information, it’s a great plugin.  Before you can use it you’ll need to install a python 2 library, python2-matplotlib.  For Arch users this library is available from the community repository.

statist plugin screenshot

Proof that I don’t pedal fast enough

 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

